Please, accept cookies in order to load the content.

Who is We?

The Dutch contribution to La Biennale di Venezia 2021

Who is We? questions the dominant structures and histories that we inhabit and inherit, presenting an urbanism that is other – female, of colour, queer and multispecies.


In a series of interviews, Het Nieuwe Instituut unpacks the themes underpinning Who is We?

Multispecies Urbanism

Interview with Debra Solomon

Artist Debra Solomon first coined the term 'multispecies urbanism' to indicate her artistic, as well as research, practice of soil building and urban regenerative ecology.

Radical Observation Exercise

By Debra Solomon

A series of awareness exercises for developing inter-relationalities with natural-world ecosystems.

The Multiplicity of Other

Afaina de Jong and InnaVisions

Afaina de Jong presents a world of habits, customs, and values that are not part of dominant culture, but should be.


An introduction by initiator and custodian Klaas Kuitenbrouwer

As the environmental and societal pressure on them increases way beyond their adaptive capacity, how can non-human populations counterbalance exclusively human-centred systems?

What about Ecology?

How TJ Demos and other beings alter our world

Proposing a notion of creative ecology means decolonising nature—not in the sense of reclaiming some sort of original wilderness or pure nonhuman environment (these represent fictions of a colonised world), but instead releasing the environment from its reduction to 'natural resources', as if it exists purely for human exploitation and consumption.

Guus Beumer, artistic director Het Nieuwe Instituut
Francien van Westrenen, head of Agency Het Nieuwe Instituut
Afaina de Jong, architect and researcher; Debra Solomon, artist and researcher
Richard Niessen
Laura Pappa, Robert Milne
Juan Arturo García
Caroline Nevejan, Chief Science Officer City of Amsterdam; Huda AbiFarès, graphic design and co-editor
Mike Emmerik, Simone Rots, Independent School for the City
Lada Hršak, Bureau LADA; Chiara Dorbolò and Daphne Bakker, Failed Architecture; Tymon Hogenelst and Jesse van der Ploeg, Studio Wild